Champions of the Environment

Home
Up
Search Site
Events Green Industry
Virginia GoGreen Garden Festival
Beautiful Gardens®
History
Certification
History
Job Opportunities
For Sale
Links/Resources
Membership Application
MeetingMinutes
Media Releases
News Green Industry
Officers & Directors
Speaker Bureau
State Fair Gardens
Strategic Plan 2008-2010
VA Grown Banner
Be Water Wise
Plant It Right!
Water It Right!

 

Degree Horticulture Higher Education Programs in Virginia

4-Year Degree Programs

Virginia Tech
Department of Horticulture
Saunders Hall (0327), Blacksburg VA  24061-0001
Dr. Roger Harris ,Interim Dept Head
540-231-4026    fax: 540-231-3083  rharris@vt.edu 
Christopher Newport University
(Program terminated 2008)
Ferrum College
BS in Horticulture provides students with a diversified 4-year curriculum 
          and the opportunity for practical experience.
80 Wiley Dr., Ferrum, VA 24088-9001
Dr. Bob R. Pohlad,  540-365-4367  bpohlad@ferrum.edu
Virginia State University
BS with options: Ag. Business or Plant, Soil & Environmental Science
PO Box 9416, Petersburg, VA 23806-9416
Conrad M. Gilliam, Chairperson,  804-524-5672  cgilliam@vsu.edu

University of Richmond – School of Continuing Studies
Landscape Design Certificate. Special Program Building
University of Richmond, 28 Westhampton Way, Richmond,  VA 23173-0001
Cary Jamieson, 804-248-7701,cjamieson@richmond.edu  
For program information, please take a look at our webpage:http://scs.richmond.edu/professional/landscape-design/
Full catalog descriptions are available here: http://scs.richmond.edu/schedules-catalogs/think-again/schedule-landscape.html
To register for classes, please go to our online catalog: http://activenet.active.com/thinkagain/
The George Washington University Landscape Design 
Graduate Certificate and Master's Degree Programs 
and Graduate Certificate Program in Sustainable Landscapes.
www.nearyou.gwu.edu/landscape
Alexandria Graduate Education Center
1775-B Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22314
Tel: (703)299-0199  Fax: (703)299-0295
E-mail: myep@gwu.edu 
Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden
1800 Lakeside Ave, Richmond, VA 23228-4700
807-262-9887 Lucy Coggin Lucyc.gwu@lewisginter.org 

VIRGINIA COMMUNITY COLLEGE HORTICULTURE PROGRAMS - 2-Year

J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College, Western Campus (Goochland)
A.A.S. with options: Landscape Design, Landscape & Turf Management, Plant Production, 
Career Studies Certificate Floral Design or Individualized Studies. 
(Transferable classes to VT Horticulture Program)
PO Box 85622, Richmond, VA 23285-5622
David Seward,    804-523-5946 dseward@reynolds.edu 
Blue Ridge Community College
Career Studies Certificate in Horticulture & Arboriculture
(Transfer agreement to VT Horticulture Program being reviewed)
PO Box 80, Weyers Cave, VA 24486
Joe Murray,   540-453-2349, murrayj@brcc.edu
Germanna Community College, Locust Grove Campus
Career Studies Certificate in Horticulture
(Transfer agreement with J. Sargeant Reynolds CC and Northern Virginia CC)
2130 Germanna Hwy, Locust Grove, VA 22508-2102
Dr. Michael Read,  540-423-9836, mread@germanna.edu 
Northern Virginia Community College
A.A.S. with Landscape Design option. 
(Transferable classes to VT Horticulture Program)
1000 Harry Flood Byrd Hwy, Sterling, VA 20164-8699
David Scheid,    703-450-2614, dscheid@nvcc.edu
Piedmont Virginia Community College
Career Studies Certificate in Horticulture
501 College Drive, Charlottesville 22902-7589
Lesley Sewell,   804/961-5432   FAX 804/971-8232  lsewell@pvcc.edu 
Tidewater Community College
A.A.S. with options: Landscape Design & Management 
      or Greenhouse Production & Garden Center Management. 
(Transferable classes to VT Horticulture Program)
1428 Cedar Rd, Chesapeake, VA 23320-7108 
Ken Spencer,  757-822-5149, kspencer@tcc.edu
Virginia Highlands Community College
A.A.S. Technology Degree with an option to specialize in Turfgrass Management 
(Transferable classes to VT Horticulture Program)
PO Box 828, Abingdon VA 24212-0828
Joe Keebler,   276-739-2442, jkeebler@vhcc.edu
Virginia Tech A.A.G. with options
Landscape & Turf Management and Applied Ag. Management, 
Department of Agricultural Technology
1060 Litton Reaves Hall (mail 0334) Blacksburg, VA 24061
Stephanie White,  540-231-7649, swhite@vt.edu
Virginia Western Community College
A.A.S. with options: Interior Landscaping/Floriculture or Landscape. 
(Transferable classes to VT Horticulture Program)
PO Box 14007; Roanoke, VA 24038-4007
Lee Hipp, Program head 540-857-7120, Lhipp@vw.vccs.edu
 

Top of Page